Sports officiating

Serena Williams argues with the chair umpire during a match against Naomi Osaka, of Japan, during the women's finals of the U.S. Open tennis tournament at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center, Saturday, Sept. 8, 2018, in New York. (Photo by Greg Allen/Invision/AP)
September 09, 2018 - 12:24 pm
NEW YORK (AP) — Serena Williams was fined a total of $17,000 for three code violations during her loss to Naomi Osaka in the U.S. Open final. On Sunday, a day after the match, the tournament referee's office docked Williams $10,000 for "verbal abuse" of chair umpire Carlos Ramos, $4,000 for being...
Read More
Serena Williams, right, talks with referee Brian Earley during the women's final of the U.S. Open tennis tournament against Naomi Osaka, of Japan, Saturday, Sept. 8, 2018, in New York. (AP Photo/Adam Hunger)
September 08, 2018 - 10:48 pm
NEW YORK (AP) — The events and the arguing and the booing that would make this a U.S. Open final unlike any other began when Serena Williams' coach made what she insisted was an innocent thumbs-up, but the chair umpire interpreted as a helpful signal. It was the second game of the second set...
Read More
Serena Williams talks with referee Brian Earley during the women's final of the U.S. Open tennis tournament against Naomi Osaka, of Japan, Saturday, Sept. 8, 2018, in New York. (AP Photo/Julio Cortez)
September 08, 2018 - 9:01 pm
NEW YORK (AP) — Serena Williams thought she was treated more harshly by the chair umpire in the U.S. Open final than a man would have been. Williams was cited by official Carlos Ramos for three code violations during her 6-2, 6-4 loss to Naomi Osaka on Saturday: for getting coaching signals; for...
Read More
Chair umpire Carlos Ramos, second from left, is lead off the court by referee Brian Earley after Naomi Osaka, of Japan, defeated Serena Williams in the women's final of the U.S. Open tennis tournament, Saturday, Sept. 8, 2018, in New York. (AP Photo/Julio Cortez)
September 08, 2018 - 8:49 pm
NEW YORK (AP) — The Latest on the U.S. Open tennis tournament (all times local): 8:45 p.m. The U.S. Open says the decision by the chair umpire to hit Serena Williams with code violations is final and the actions were not reviewable. Williams received a warning from umpire Carlos Ramos for receiving...
Read More
Philadelphia Phillies relief pitcher Austin Davis, left, talks with umpire Marty Foster, right, during the eighth inning of a baseball game against the Chicago Cubs, Saturday, Sept. 1, 2018, in Philadelphia. Umpire Joe West confiscated a card from Davis in the eighth inning of Philadelphia's 7-1 loss. Davis and Phillies manager Gabe Kapler said he was using the card merely for information on the Cubs hitters. But West said it was illegal under Rule 6.02(c)(7), which states that the pitcher shall not have on his person, or in his possession, any foreign substance. (AP Photo/Chris Szagola)
September 02, 2018 - 4:22 pm
Major League Baseball has told teams that it's OK for pitchers to use the kind of scouting cards that umpire Joe West confiscated from Philadelphia reliever Austin Davis on the mound this weekend. Phillies manager Gabe Kapler said Sunday that he'd been informed the cards were legal. They are,...
Read More
Marin Cilic, of Croatia, reacts after winning the third set against Alex de Minaur, of Australia, at the U.S. Open tennis tournament Saturday, Sept. 1, 2018, in New York. (AP Photo/Mark Lennihan)
September 02, 2018 - 1:33 am
NEW YORK (AP) — The Latest on the U.S. Open tennis tournament (all times local): 1:25 a.m. No. 7 seed Marin Cilic, the 2014 U.S. Open champion, and 19-year-old Alex de Minaur are heading to a fifth set in their third-round match. Cilic dropped the opening two sets 6-4, 6-3, before tying the match...
Read More
Philadelphia Phillies relief pitcher Austin Davis, left, talks with umpire Marty Foster, right, during the eighth inning of a baseball game against the Chicago Cubs, Saturday, Sept. 1, 2018, in Philadelphia. Umpire Joe West confiscated a card from Davis in the eighth inning of Philadelphia's 7-1 loss. Davis and Phillies manager Gabe Kapler said he was using the card merely for information on the Cubs hitters. But West said it was illegal under Rule 6.02(c)(7), which states that the pitcher shall not have on his person, or in his possession, any foreign substance. (AP Photo/Chris Szagola)
September 01, 2018 - 11:24 pm
PHILADELPHIA (AP) — Pitchers can't have a cheat sheet — at least for now. Veteran umpire Joe West confiscated a card from Phillies reliever Austin Davis in the eighth inning of Philadelphia's 7-1 loss to the Chicago Cubs on Saturday night. Davis and Phillies manager Gabe Kapler said he was using...
Read More
Milos Raonic, left, of Canada, shakes hands with Stan Wawrinka, of Switzerland, after Raonic won their third-round match at the U.S. Open tennis tournament, Friday, Aug. 31, 2018, in New York. (AP Photo/Julio Cortez)
August 31, 2018 - 10:30 pm
NEW YORK (AP) — The Latest on the U.S. Open tennis tournament (all times local): 10:25 p.m. Stan Wawrinka's return to the U.S. Open is over. The 2016 champion was eliminated by No. 25 seed Milos Raonic of Canada 7-6 (6), 6-4, 6-3 in the third round. Wawrinka's nine-match winning streak in Flushing...
Read More
Nick Kyrgios, of Australia, wipes his face during a match against Pierre-Hugues Herbert, of France, during the second round of the U.S. Open tennis tournament, Thursday, Aug. 30, 2018, in New York. (AP Photo/Seth Wenig)
August 31, 2018 - 9:56 am
NEW YORK (AP) — The chair umpire who climbed out of his seat to talk with Nick Kyrgios during a second-round match will continue to officiate during the U.S. Open. A "comprehensive review conducted by a number of tournament officials" determined that chair umpire Mohamed Lahyani's mid-match chat...
Read More
Nick Kyrgios, of Australia, reacts against Pierre-Hugues Herbert, of France, during the second round of the U.S. Open tennis tournament, Thursday, Aug. 30, 2018, in New York. (AP Photo/Seth Wenig)
August 30, 2018 - 11:23 pm
NEW YORK (AP) — Nick Kyrgios was losing big at the U.S. Open on Thursday, and barely even trying. Didn't move while so-so serves flew by for aces. Casually put groundstrokes into the net. Double-faulted without caring. The crowd began booing. The chair umpire, Mohamed Lahyani, decided to intervene...
Read More

Pages