USA Today Images

Legendary John Force ready to defend last year's Funny Car win

2018 Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals this weekend

March 15, 2018 - 7:18 am

GAINESVILLE -- Legendary Funny Car driver John Force is putting a sluggish start to the 2018 season behind him, as the 16-time world champion will defend his funny car victory at this weekend’s Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals at Gainesville Raceway.

Gainesville Raceway is the site of Force’s last victory and home to eight career Force wins, the most of any Funny Car driver. “I am ready to get back to the race track,” said Force. “We have had some struggles at the first two races but we are figuring it out. My team has been going over my PEAK Chevrolet Funny Car and we’ll be ready..”

Tony Schumacher (Top Fuel), Force (Funny Car), Shane Gray (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle) were last year’s winners of the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series event in Gainesviile.

Force will face off with John Force Racing teammates Courtney Force and defending world champion Hight, as well as the likes of 2016 champ Ron Capps, points leader Matt Hagan, who won in Pomona, J.R. Todd, class newcomer Shawn Langdon and Cruz Pedregon.  John Force will debut a new design on his car this weekend as well.

“Gainesville has a lot of history,” said Force. I won this race last year and I am looking to get another win this year.

As always, fans can interact with their favorite drivers with an exclusive pit pass to the most powerful and sensory-filled motorsports attraction on the planet. This gives fans direct access to the teams, allowing them to see firsthand the highly-skilled mechanics service their hot rods between rounds, and get autographs from their favorite NHRA drivers. Fans can also visit NHRA’s popular Nitro Alley and Manufacturers Midway, where sponsors and race vendors create a carnival atmosphere, with interactive displays, simulated competitions, merchandise, food and fun for the entire family.

Mello Yello Drag Racing Series qualifying will feature two rounds at 1:15 and 5:00 p.m. on Friday, March 16 and the final two rounds of qualifying on Saturday, March 17 at 12:00 and 3:00 p.m. Final eliminations are scheduled for 11 a.m. on Sunday, March 18.

Click here for tickets and info.

Comments ()