Dancers preform during the Best FIFA soccer awards ceremony, in Milan's La Scala theater, northern Italy, Monday, Sept. 23, 2019. Virgil van Dijk is up against five-time winners Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi for the FIFA best player award and United States forward Megan Rapinoe is the favorite for the women's award. (AP Photo/Antonio Calanni)

The Latest: Rapinoe, Morgan in FIFA women's team of the year

September 23, 2019 - 3:40 pm

MILAN (AP) — The Latest on FIFA Best awards at Milan's Teatro alla Scala (all times local):

9:30 p.m.

The women's team of the 2018-19 season, as voted on by soccer players, has been announced at the FIFA Best ceremony.

The goalkeeper is Sari van Veenendaal of Atletico Madrid and the Netherlands.

The back four consists of Lucy Bronze (England, Lyon), Wendie Renard (France, Lyon), Nilla Fischer (Sweden, Linköping) and Kelley O'Hara (United States, Utah Royals).

The midfield features Amandine Henry (France, Lyon), Julie Ertz (United States, Chicago Red Stars) and Rose Lavelle (United States, Washington Spirit).

Up front, it's American World-Cup winning duo Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC) and Alex Morgan (Orlando FC), and Marta (Brazil, Orlando Pride).

Thousands of players from across the world participated in the vote organized by world player's union FIFPro.


9:10 p.m.

The women's goalkeeper award at the FIFA Best ceremony has gone to Sari van Veenendaal of Atletico Madrid and the Netherlands.

The 29-year-old Van Veenendaal captained the Netherlands to the final of the women's World Cup, where it lost to the United States.


9:05 p.m.

Silvia Greco has won the fan award at the FIFA Best ceremony.

The Palmeiras supporter takes her blind son Nickollas to matches and narrates the action for him.

Nickollas went on stage with his mother to accept the award.

Silvia recently said: "I go into details about the atmosphere, the characteristics of each player, and narrating goals is without doubt the most emotional part."


8:55 p.m.

Jürgen Klopp has been crowned coach of the year at the FIFA Best ceremony after leading Liverpool to the Champions League title.

Klopp says: "I have to thank my team because as coach you can only be as good as your team is."

All three finalists work in the Premier League.

Pep Guardiola was also in the running after his Manchester City successfully defended the Premier League title. Tottenham's Mauricio Pochettino was the other finalist despite never having won a trophy.


8:50 p.m.

The FIFA Best awards ceremony has opened with teenager Dániel Zsóri' bicycle-kick winner on his debut for Debrecen being voted best goal of the season.

The Puskas Award-winning goal from the 18-year-old came minutes after he came on as a substitute during Debrecen's 2-1 victory over Ferencváros in the Hungarian League.

The FIFA ceremony is at Milan's iconic Teatro all Scala — the globe's premier opera venue.


More AP soccer: and

AP Editorial Categories: 
Comments ()