FIFA names 4 women, 6 men on list for women's coaching award

July 24, 2018 - 7:27 am

ZURICH (AP) — Four women and six men are on a 10-candidate list to win the FIFA award as the best coach in women's football.

FIFA says its expert panel's nominations include Sarina Wiegman, the 2017 winner who coaches the Netherlands, and Asako Takakura, who coached Japan to the Women's Asian Cup title.

The male candidates include Reynald Pedros, who led Lyon to a Women's Champions League and French league double, and Brazil's Vadao, whose team won the Copa America Femenina.

Later Monday, FIFA publishes candidate lists for the men's and women's best player awards, and the best men's coach.

The winners announced in London on Sept. 24 are voted by national coaches and captains, plus media from FIFA's 211 member countries, and fans voting online.

AP Editorial Categories: 
Comments ()